The booster seat law in Ohio states that kids ages 4-8 and less than 4′ 9″ must be in a booster seat while riding in a car. This law took effect October 2009. Authorities have given parents a grace period for citations until now. Starting tomorrow, Wednesday, April 6th, kids must be in a booster seat or police will fine violators up to $100 per citation.
The booster seat law only makes sense. The Ohio Department of Public Safety states that in a recent 5-year period, 76 kids between the ages of 4-8 died in car crashes. 18,000 kids were injured in car crashed. If kids are in a booster seat they have 59% risk sustaining a serious car crash. Those are odds worth keeping our kids buckled and in a booster seat.
There are many booster seats to choose from, some have the 5-point harness up to 65 lbs and convert to just the base up to 100lbs like the Safety 1st Go Hybrid Booster Seat. Safety 1st has an excellent assortment of Booster Seats to choose from. I will be posting a review and giveaway shortly on the Safety 1st Go Hybrid Booster Car Seat.